A Brief Guide to the Zodiac

Most people are aware of their astrological sign, even if they only occasionally check out their horoscope online. The 12 astrological signs come from the zodiac, a circle divided into 12 sectors, based upon the 12 lunar cycles it takes for the sun to return to its original position. An individual’s sun sign is determined by where the sun was positioned on the day he or she was born. The term Zodiac means “circle of animals”, and refers to the constellations. The Zodiac belt forms a circle around the sun. The ancient Babylonians named each lunar cycle after an animal or person.

 >Share this Article on Facebook

Screen Shot 2014-10-02 at 3.43.51 pm

Aries is the first sign of the Zodiac. Your Sun sign describes the basic qualities of your personality. Taurus, Cancer, Virgo, Scorpio and Pisces are feminine signs and Aries, Gemini, Leo, Libra, Sagittarius and Aquarius are masculine signs. Astrologers make predictions based on your Sun sign and the placement of planers in your solar houses. The Spring Equinox marks the beginning of the astrological year.

Solar Houses
Each of the 12 sun signs coordinates with one of the four elements: Air, Fire, Earth and Water. Each of the four groups has its own quadrant on the zodiac circle, known as solar houses. The solar houses relate to areas such as relationships, finances and travel.

Get a detailed Astrology reading from our talented Reader Mirella

The Quaternaries

There are three categories in the quaternaries with four signs each:

•Cardinal: Although at times they can seem domineering, Aries, Cancer, Libra, and Capricorn are creative and ambitious, often taking positions of leadership.

•Fixed: Sometimes considered to be stubborn, Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius are strong-willed people and follow through.

•Mutable: Often thought to be inconsistent, Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, and Pisces are adaptable.

The Solar Houses

The Babylonians discovered the solar houses which represent different parts of life. The first six houses are located below the horizon and the last six are above it. Specific Zodiac signs rule each house in your natal chart.

Screen Shot 2014-10-02 at 3.44.05 pm

Individuals and groups of people have been studying the movements and relative positions of celestial bodies and their influences on human beings for thousands of years. It has developed into a comprehensive area of study that encompasses many areas.

Read some of Mirellas’s other articles…
What a clairvoyant can tell you about your relationship
Finding your soul mate through astrology
Secrets to love compatibility

The following two tabs change content below.
Mirella was born Psychic as all the women in her family for generations have been. She is caring and compassionate and feels honored to be able to use her gifts to help others. Mirella's natural abilities and the knowledge and experience of how to interpret what she sees handed down through the generations of her family will amaze you. Call now and connect on Life reader with Mirella and let her Spirit Guides guide you.

Latest posts by Mirella (see all)

One thought on “A Brief Guide to the Zodiac

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *